Venturi, Daniele: 11 Haiku, for Soprano and Piano


  • Composer(s): Daniele Venturi
  • Edition: Da Vinci Edition
  • Format: A4 - Paperback
  • Genre: Vocal
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Soprano
  • Pages: 24
  • Period: Contemporary
  • ISMN: 9790216203470
SKU: DV 10067 Category:

Additional information











Daniele Venturi was born in Porretta Terme (Bologna – Italy) in 1971. As a composer and choir director he is among the most established of his generation. He studied composition with Gérard Grisey, Giacomo Manzoni, Fabio Vacchi, Ivan Fedele and Luis de Pablo, and orchestral conducting with Piero Bellugi. He is the founder and director of “Coro Gaudium” (1992) (Italian folk songs) and “Arsarmonica Ensemble” (2006). Since 1987 he has done ethnomusicological research in the Bologna and Modena areas, finding interesting ideas for his original compositions. In 2000 he became the assistant director of Pier Paolo Scattolin’s “Choir Voices of Europe”, Bologna (European City of Culture).

He has to his credit numerous international composition prizes including: “Gino Contilli”, Messina 2003 (second prize ex-aequo, and honourable mention), “IAMIC”, Toronto 2009, (prize shared between the two Italian composers who participated), “JSCM”, Tokyo, 2010, (the only European finalist), “ISCM”, Belgium 2012, (only Italian composer selected), ISCM-WMD, Slovenia, 2015, (Italian selection SIMC), Soundscape, Maccagno, 2015, (composer in residence), ISCM-WMD, Sud Korea, 2016, (Italian selection SIMC), San Diego New Music, 2016, USA, (Italian composer selected), etc..
His works have been performed in Italy and abroad, and broadcast by several radio and television channels (“Rai Radio Tre”, “Radio Cemat”, “Concertzender Radio”, “Radio Klara”, “Radio France”, “Vatican Radio”, “RAI Italian Television”).He has received commissions from major organizations and concert seasons and his music has been performed in prestigious concert halls such as: Italy: Milan, “Royal Palace”, “Teatro Dal Verme”, “Aula Magna of the Università Bocconi”, Turin, “Gam”, “Lingotto Auditorium”, Genova,”Tursi Palace”, Padua, “Auditorium Altinate/San Gaetano”, Pescara, “Pescara Music Academy Auditorium”, Messina, “Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art” and abroad, Slovakia: “Church of St. Michael Archangel”, Bratislava-Cunovo. Belgium: “STUK Labozaal”, Leuven. Japan: “Bunka Kaikan Hall”, “Tokyo Opera City”, Tokyo. China: “Nie Er Concert Hall”, Chengdu. Thailand: “Chiang Mai Auditorium”. Canada: “Canadian Music Centre”, “Placebo Space”, Toronto, “McGill University”, “Tana Schulich Hall”, Montreal. USA, Columbia University, Auditorium of the Italian Academy, New York, St Botolph Building, Room 01 – New England Conservatory, Boston, EDT Concert Hall at the Haven, Charlottesville, Virginia, Concert Hall, The Arts at UMBC, Baltimora, The Athenaeum Music & Arts Library, San Diego. Estonia, “Peetri Kogudus”, Tartu. Argentina: “Sala La Vidriera the Direcion General de Ensenanza Art”, Buenos Aires, “Institute Superior de Musica”, Santa Fe, Argentina “J. Alvarez Library”, Rosario. Uruguay: “Escuela Universitaria Music”, “Universidad de la Republica”, Montevideo. Azerbaijan: “Fund Zibal Az”, Baku, etc.
He has collaborated with international artists, performers and ensembles such as: Dacia Maraini, Germano Sartelli, Irvine Arditti, Garth Knox, Lisa Cella, Mark Menzies, Arne Deforce, Paola Perrucci, Pier Damiano Peretti, Luisa Sello, Takashi Aoyama, Tadayuki Kawahara, Solomiya Moroz, Liu Kai, Elizabeth Farnum, Dan Lippel, William Anderson, Jeremy Bass, Carlos Aguilar, “Pomus Ensemble” from “I Pomeriggi Musicali” – Milan, “Eclectica choir” – Bologna, “Interensemble” – Padova, “Cygnus Ensemble” – New York, “Noise Ensemble” – San Diego, “Le Centre Henri Pousseur” – Brussels, Maria Felix Korporal -Amsterdam, Istvan Horkay – Budapest, etc..
In September 2009, he issued his first Compact-Disc by Bongiovanni (Bologna) entitled “Quattro lembi di cielo” (Four sky pieces) consisting of 12 chamber works, with a preface by the wellknown Italian composer and teacher Giacomo Manzoni, and programme notes by Sandro Cappelletto.
In 2010 he taught Choral Conducting and Choral Composition at the “F.Venezze” Conservatoire – Rovigo, Italy.
In march of 2013 he has been invited by the “Electronic Music department” of the “SCCM Conservatory” (Chengdu, China) to give a series of lectures on his music.
In July 2013 he was commissioned by the “Roger Shapiro Fund for New Music” of Washington and the “ISCM Mid-Atlantic” the composition “Alla luna” for soprano, mandolin and guitar on text by Giacomo Leopardi.
In the summer of 2013, the Association “Musica/Realtà” – Milan has commissioned the piece “NOGI” for three pianos, a tribute to Luigi Nono.
Among his most recent compositions are included “Achernar” (2014) for piano and orchestra, written at the request of the Venezuelan pianist and composer Marianela Arocha, former president of “SVMC” (“Sociedad Venezolana de Música Contemporánea”), “Aden” (2015) for strings chamber orchestra, written for the “Amadeus Chamber Orchestra” of the “Polish-Radio” directed by Agnieszka Duczmal, and “Nibiru” (2015) for marimba and electronics, piece written at the request of the French percussionist Laurent Mariusse, and will be performed as a world première in autumn 2016 in Argentina.
He has recently completed the compositions: “Circus sounds” (2016) for solo flute, dedicated to American flutist Lisa Cella, “Studio sulla lontananza” (2011-2016) for piano, and “11 Haiku” (2016) for coloratura soprano and piano, dedicated to French pianist Pascale Berthelot.
In May 2016 Daniele Venturi he was appointed Director responsible of Artistic Committee “AERCO” (“Associazione Emiliano-Romagnola Cori”) which is part of “Feniarco” (“National Federation of Italian Regional Choral Associations”).
His compositions have been published by “M.A.P.”, “Rugginenti”, “Sconfinarte”, “Taukay”, “Isuku” and “Da Vinci” Editions.
From the 1st of September 2013 his artistic activity is followed by the “Brennecke-Art Management” in Vienna.