Shahrimanyan, Jirayr: Sonata, for Two Guitars, 2017


  • Composer(s): Jirayr Shahrimanyan
  • Edition: Da Vinci Edition
  • ISMN: 9790216208093
  • Format: A4 - Paperback
  • Genre: Chamber
  • Instrumentation: Guitar
  • Pages: 24
  • Period: Contemporary
SKU: DV 10708 Category:

Additional information










Jirayr Shahrimanyan (Armenian: Ժիրայր Շահրիմանյան) is a native of Yerevan, born on February 5th, 1988, in the family of musicians. Jirayr began his musical education at the age of 7, when he entered the Avet Gabrielyan music school (N12), where he studied piano and later also composition. During 2003-04 he took private lessons of composition and music theory from composer Martun Israelyan.
Jirayr Shahrimanyan: In 2004 he entered the Yerevan State Conservatory (class of professor M. Israelyan). He completed it with excellence in 2009 as a bachelor, and in 2010 as a master of composition. Shahrimanyan cooperates with such ensembles as Sinfonia Toronto (Canada), New Trombone Collective (Netherlands), Trio Terroir (USA), organist Dragan Trajer (Croatia), State Youth Orchestra of Armenia, State Chamber Choir of Armenia among others.

Shahrimanyan’s honours include:

Second Prize in The Vocal Works Competition after Lazarus Saryan (2008)
Compulsory piece during The Acomponists Competition after Heghine ter-Ghevondyan (2010)
Second Prize in The National Competition for a children choruses, (2010)
First Prize in The 1900+ World Piano Music Competition (2011)
The Special Prize in The 7th Aram Khachatryan International Competition for symphonic works (2011)
The Finalist in The “Cro patria” choral music competition (Split, Croatia 2011)
A winning award in The World Armenian Congress selection for the best composition for young composers (2011)
The Special Prize in the “Ave Maria” Swiss-Armenian competition (2012)
The First Prize in National Competition of young composers chamber music 2012
Selection in top 5 best works from 60 works in the Slide Factory International Festival (Rotterdam, Netherlands 2013)

The catalogue of his works include cantata “Winter peaceful strophes”, Symphony, Sinfonietta, two string quartets and many chamber, choral and vocal works which have been performed in various concerts and festivals in USA, Canada, France, Netherland, Belgium, Sweden, Germany, Italy, Croatia, Russia, Iran and Armenia. Shahrimanyan’s works are published in Armenia, Italy, Netherlands, and in the USA, most recently in the “Amalgam Publishing” where he is a member composer since 2014.

Shahrimanyan’s works are published in Italy, Netherlands, USA and Japan. He is a member of Armenian Composer’s Union since 2013.