Ciro Ferrigno: Four Miniatures, for Sax Quartet


  • Composer(s): Ciro Ferrigno
  • Edition: Da Vinci Edition
  • Format: A4 - Paperback
  • Genre: Chamber
  • Instrumentation: Saxophone Quartet
  • ISMN: 9790216219471
  • Period: Contemporary
  • Publication year: 2023
SKU: DV 12067 Category:

Additional information








Publication year


Ciro Ferrigno
Composer, musician, music therapist, author of a large number of musical works that include ensembles of various kinds featured in publications and recordings. His works have been performed at the Italian Embassy in Berlin, the Circolo Artistico Politecnico di Napoli, the Real Teatro di San Carlo and the Fiati Festival Ferrandina. He has collaborated with many noted soloists and organizations such as: Fondazione San Carlo, Collegium Philarmonicum, US Naval Forces Band, B&B Audiofilm Roma, Italian Ministry of Education, Mediaset.
Quatuor à corde pour la fin de l’humanité
This piece is about the end of humankind, however it goes far beyond what is described in Messiaen's masterpiece. Ferrigno's work opens with a larghetto built on repeated dyads. The key of E minor and the use of counterpoint create a steady flow between the parts, as if expressing the temporariness of human life. The spiralling force of the third section (presto) suggests the feeling of being trapped, with no way out. Death is all that is left and it completely envelops humankind.