Giuseppe D’Amico: Piano Movement


  • Composer(s): Giuseppe D'Amico
  • ISMN: 9790216208697
  • Edition: Da Vinci Edition
  • Format: A4 - Paperback
  • Genre: Instrumental
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Pages: 24
  • Period: Contemporary
SKU: DV 11274 Category:

Additional information










Giuseppe D'amico was born in Sassari in 1972. Since he was a child his main inclination leds him to the drawing and the figurative arts, the interest in music develops late, around he was 15 years old. He attends private piano lessons, but soon realized that his true vocation is not the musical instrument but the composition of music. He starts studying as a self-taught person harmony and counterpoint, and around 20 years old he starts to compose in a methodical way. His works from 20 to 25 are almost completely renegade and he starts its way for a Ricercare for string orchestra characterized by a very dense counterpoint. At the same time he attends literary studies that will then be interrupted to register him in the DAMS of Bologna, music section where he achieves the degree with the highest marks by a comparative thesis between some works of Beethoven and Schubert with the patronage of the eminent Maurizio Giani musicologist. He goes on to compose but he advocates for a substantial isolation not hiding a certain discomfort for some contexts related to music.
Not hiding a certain discomfort for some contexts related to contemporary music and musicology. One of his models is Charles Ives who chose isolation to devote himself to the creative aspect in freedom by doing something else to live. He continues with the figurative art with graphic painting and drawing taking part in some painting exhibitions, an aspect that will also influence the musical aspect. He now voluntarily chooses later to share and let know his compositions.
He is the author of a lot of chamber music, two pianos and four hands piano, including sonatas, cycles, suites and more, as well as chamber music.
Two string quartets, two string quintets and piano.
A suite for wind quintet etc. and some pieces for organic and more like a fantasy for piano and orchestra and a piece inspired by the "La campana incrinata" of Baudelaire. In fact, he composed eight symphonies of which the third and sixth inspired by Flemish painting, as well as his cycle for piano “Trascrizioni immaginarie dal Giardino delle delizie” (Imaginary transcriptions of the garden of delights), three chamber concerts of which the last for sax and organ quartet. Now he publishes some of his works with Da Vinci Publishing.