Alessandro Rolla: 4 Valzer Op. Posth, for Violin, Flute and Guitar


  • Composer(s): Alessandro Rolla
  • Edition: Da Vinci Edition
  • Editor: Gabriele Zanetti
  • Format: A4 - Paperback
  • Genre: Chamber
  • Instrumentation: Flute, Guitar, Violin
  • ISMN: 9790216213189
  • Pages: 12
  • Period: Romantic
  • Publication year: 2020
SKU: DV 21609 Category:

Additional information







, ,




Publication year


Alessandro Rolla (b Pavia, 23 April 1757; d Milan, 14 Sept 1841). Italian composer, violinist and viola player. He studied counterpoint in Milan with G.A. Fioroni, a pupil of Leonardo Leo. Having decided to devote himself to the viola, he performed a viola concerto of his own in the church of S Ambrogio at some time between 1772 and 1774, probably under the direction of G.B. Sammartini, and in 1778 he played the viola in the orchestra for the inauguration of the Regio Ducal Teatro alla Scala. In 1782, possibly thanks to Sarti, he was appointed first viola player in the Parma orchestra, becoming its leader and conductor in 1792. In 1802, on the death of the Duke of Parma, he was summoned by the impresario Ricci to conduct the La Scala orchestra, where he remained until 1833, directing operas by Mozart, Mayr, Paer, Rossini, Bellini, the young Donizetti and Mercadante. He also served as first violinist and conductor of the court orchestra of Viceroy Eugenio di Beauharnais from 1805, and from 1808 to 1835 he was first professor of violin and viola at the newly opened Milan Conservatory.