Maria Gabriella Mariani: Hologram [Ologramma], Theme, 17 Variations and Finale with improvisation, for Piano (2014)


  • Composer(s): Maria Gabriella Mariani
  • ISMN: 9790216207683
  • Edition: Da Vinci Edition
  • Format: A4 - Paperback
  • Genre: Instrumental
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Pages: 48
  • Period: Contemporary
SKU: DV 11008 Category:

Additional information










The theme in C major is simple and short, to lend itself more to a series of variations that amplify the scope and the plurality of characterizations. The system thus becomes orchestral and this determines a virtuosic character that gradually permeates the whole composition. In reality it is not an explosive and referential virtuosity, but only the result of an undoubted difficulty of making the orchestral conception on the piano; on the other hand, in several moments the expressive language becomes intimate, suffused and curt. The piece can be performed by adding the original ending to the Finale, or, before closing, creating an extemporaneous conclusion that acts as a conclusive variation, a sort of cadence that is however placed at the end of the piece. The relevance with the title is dictated by the action of the laser light beam that is printed on a plate making it legible in different dimensions, just like these variations, one connected to the other and all linked together.



Maria Gabriella Mariani: Italian pianist, composer, and writer, she studied first in Italy, then in France. Since 2008, in addition to holding concerts, she has also dedicated herself to the activity of composer. Her first CD Presenze (2008) contains seven solo piano works inspired by her first novel with the same title. In the same year she composes Fun Tango.Three radiant flows of a single matrix, a piano work in three movements, with which in 2017 won 3 Global Music Awards in Los Angeles both as an composer and a san interpreter. Her novel Imperfect Consonances is linked to Fun Tango, both published in 2010. In 2009 she composed Il Cielo s’inabissa (The sky sinks) and Traces, a piano sonata in three movements, and in 2014 recorded Riflessi (Reflections), solo piano pieces connected to the homonymous collection of stories written by her, focused on a fantastic wheel of time. In 2011 she dedicated to her Maestro Aldo Ciccolini the sonata Pour jouer (the only existing work written for the great Italian - French pianist) that performed in 2014 in his presence on the occasion of the institutional event “Tribute to Aldo Ciccolini”. The latter, after her performance, so expressed himself publicly: “I recognized myself very often during the execution of this piece, a masterly performance, which at the same time reveals a personality, like that of the Mariani, that is truly exceptional, with extraordinary pianistic means. I express my emotion, all my pathos in hearing to this monumental work dedicated to me”. In 2013 is the turn of Solo and In the name of the father and the son; the latter composition, a work for two voices, piano and chamber orchestra, is connected to the theatrical booklet of the same name written by Mariani also in the form of a novel. Her recent compositions are: Hologram - Theme, 17 Variations and Finale with improvisation (2014) and Kinderliana (2017), a collection of pieces connected to the Fairy Tales of Doracia, equally written by her. She has performed her compositions in the major Italian theaters, music conservatories, festivals and associations. Her music has been broadcast on RAI TRE, of Lugano, Radio Classica (“Il Pianista”) and have obteined flattering appreciations and reviews on authoritative music magazines. Some of her scores are published by Da Vinci Publishing in Osaka.

Video Preview